4-division champ Roy Jones Jr. heads Boxing HOF selections

Dec. 7, 2021Updated: Dec. 7, 2021 8:41 p.m.

CANASTOTA, N.Y. (AP) — Roy Jones Jr., Miguel Cotto and James Toney have been elected to the Worldwide Boxing Corridor of Fame together with three-division feminine champions Regina Halmich and Holly Holm.

Additionally chosen for induction had been publicist Invoice Caplan within the Non-Participant class and journalist Ron Borges and historian-producer Bob Yalen within the Observer class. Posthumous inductees introduced Tuesday embrace junior light-weight champion Tod Morgan within the Previous Timer class and ring announcer Chuck Hull within the Non-Participant class.

Inductees had been voted in by members of the Boxing Writers Affiliation and a panel of worldwide boxing historians.

Because of the cancellations of the 2 earlier induction weekends due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Courses of 2020 and 2021 additionally shall be honored June 9.

The Class of 2020 contains Bernard Hopkins, Juan Manuel Marquez, Shane Mosley, Christy Martin, Lucia Rijker, Barbara Buttrick, Frank Erne, Paddy Ryan, Lou DiBella, Kathy Duva, Dan Goossen, Bernard Fernandez and Thomas Hauser.

The Class of 2021 contains Wladimir Klitschko, Floyd Mayweather, Andre Ward, Laila Ali, Ann Wolfe, Marian Trimiar, Jackie Tonawanda, Davey Moore, Freddie Brown, Dr. Margaret Goodman, Jackie McCoy, George Kimball and Jay Larkin.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *