10 of the perfect Nicaraguan boxers

In honour of Roman González, listed here are 10 champions from Nicaragua who left their mark on the boxing world

1. Alexis Arguello
‘The Explosive Skinny Man’ was a world champion in three weight lessons, successful the WBA featherweight title in opposition to Rubén Olivares in 1974, and holding the belt till beating Alfredo Escalera for the WBC super-featherweight title in ’78. Alexis then dethroned Jim Watt for the light-weight title in ’81.

2. Roman Gonzalez
The primary Nicaraguan to win world titles in 4 weight divisions, González gained the WBA minimumweight title in 2008, the WBA light-flyweight title in 2011, the WBC flyweight title in 2014, the WBC super-flyweight title in 2016, and the WBA super-flyweight title in 2020.

3. Rosendo Álvarez
Álvarez gained the WBA minimumweight title in 1995, retained it 5 instances, then later gained the WBA light-flyweight belt in 2001 and once more in 2004.

4. Ricardo Mayorga
Mayorga surprised the boxing world with a knockout win in opposition to Vernon Forrest to develop into the world’s greatest welterweight. He repeated the trick within the rematch and likewise beat Fernando Vargas and Andrew Lewis.

5. Luis Alberto Perez
A former two-weight world champion who defeated Félix Machado in 2007 to win the IBF super-flyweight title – which he defended 3 times – after which beat Genaro García in 2007 for the IBF bantamweight belt.

6. Eddie Gazo
Gazo gained the WBA super-welterweight title when besting Miguel Ángel Castellini over 15 rounds in 1977. It was a belt he defended 3 times earlier than dropping it to Masashi Kudo in Japan.

7. Felix Alvarado
One in every of Nicaragua’s present hopes, hard-hitting Alvarado has held the IBF light-flyweight belt since stopping Randy Petalcorin inside seven rounds in 2018.

8. Adonis Rivas
Rivas shocked the unbeaten Diego Morales in 1999 to win the WBO super-flyweight title on his US debut. After dropping that belt, Rivas dropped down in weight to win the WBO flyweight title in opposition to Jair Jimenez in 2002.

9. Cristofer Rosales
Rosales gained the vacant WBC flyweight title in 2018, beating Daigo Higa in Yokohama, Japan. He then had two fights within the UK, stopping Paddy Barnes in his first defence earlier than dropping the belt in opposition to Charlie Edwards.

10. Jose Alfaro
Alfaro gained the vacant WBA light-weight title in opposition to Thailand’s Prawet Singwancha in 2007. He later misplaced that belt to Yusuke Kobori, then went the space with Mexican legend Erik Morales in 2010.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *